FIFO

The International Folklore Festival of Octodure (FIFO) has been the major meeting place for traditional cultures of the world, since 1986, from August 2 to 6, 2022 in Martigny – Valais – Switzerland. From the lands of Africa via the foothills of the Carpathians, the Andes mountain range, the Balkan peninsula, the islands of the Mediterranean, without forgetting the chain of the Alps, FIFO will take you wherever women and men express their feelings through their TRADITIONAL CULTURE.

ICH

What is Intangible Cultural Heritage – ICH?

What is meant by “cultural heritage” has changed considerably in recent decades, partly as a result of the instruments developed by UNESCO.

Cultural heritage does not stop at monuments and collections of objects.

It also includes traditions or living expressions inherited from our ancestors and transmitted to our descendants, such as oral traditions, performing arts, social practices, rituals and festive events, knowledge and practices concerning nature and the universe or the knowledge and skills necessary for traditional craftsmanship.

#FIFO

Keep your heart beating with us

#FIFO

Keep your heart beating with us

Loading...

Martigny cultural capital of Valais

 

Martigny invites you to the Place du Manoir for the "5 Continents" world music festival, at the foot of the Château de la Bâtiaz for the big fireworks display on August 1, at the corner of town for its market craftsmen, in the middle of its vineyard for the Fête de Plan-Cerisier, at the Foire du Valais, at the Amphitheater for its battle of queens or in Le Bourg for the Foire du Lard, or even in town for the traditional Christmas Market ! Let yourself be inspired by the art of living, by the flavor of the liqueurs distilled at Morand since 1889, by the southern climate, in the shade of century-old plane trees, and by the annual art exhibitions of galleries, museums and the Gianadda Foundation in Martigny. The town also offers many sporting activities and is a starting point for wonderful excursions to Chamonix, Bovernier, Trient, Salvan, Les Marécottes, Fully, Saillon, Verbier and many more.

CONTACT

LE FIFO

Le Festival International Folklorique d’Octodure (FIFO), c’est le grand rendez-vous des cultures traditionnelles du monde, depuis 1986, du 2 au 6 août 2022 à Martigny – Valais – Suisse. Des terres de l’Afrique en passant par les contreforts des Carpates, la cordillère des Andes, la péninsule des Balkans, les iles de la Méditerranée, sans oublier la chaîne des Alpes, le FIFO vous emmènera partout où des femmes et des hommes expriment leurs sentiments au travers de leur CULTURE TRADITIONNELLE.

PCI

Qu’est-ce que le Patrimoine Culturel Immatériel – PCI ?

Ce que l’on entend par « patrimoine culturel » a changé de manière considérable au cours des dernières décennies, en partie du fait des instruments élaborés par l’UNESCO.

Le patrimoine culturel ne s’arrête pas aux monuments et aux collections d’objets.

Il comprend également les traditions ou les expressions vivantes héritées de nos ancêtres et transmises à nos descendants, comme les traditions orales, les arts du spectacle, les pratiques sociales, rituels et événements festifs, les connaissances et pratiques concernant la nature et l’univers ou les connaissances et le savoir-faire nécessaires à l’artisanat traditionnel.

#FIFO

Fais battre ton cœur avec nous

#FIFO

Fais battre ton cœur avec nous

Loading...

Martigny, capitale culturelle du Valais

 

Martigny vous donne rendez-vous sur la Place du Manoir pour le festival de musiques du monde « les 5 Continents », au pied du Château de la Bâtiaz pour le grand feu d’artifice du 1er août, au coin de la ville pour son marché des artisans, au milieu de son vignoble pour la Fête de Plan-Cerisier, à la Foire du Valais, à l’Amphithéâtre pour son combat de reines ou au Bourg pour la Foire du Lard, ou encore en ville pour le traditionnel Marché de Noël ! Laissez-vous inspirer par l’art de vivre, par la saveur des liqueurs distillées chez Morand depuis 1889, par le climat méridional, à l’ombre des platanes centenaires, et par les expositions d’art annuelles des galeries, musées et de la Fondation Gianadda à Martigny. La ville propose également de nombreuses activités sportives et constitue un point de départ pour de magnifiques excursions vers Chamonix, Bovernier, Trient, Salvan, Les Marécottes, Fully, Saillon, Verbier et bien d’autres encore.

CONTACT